Chapter News

UAPB Students Receive Scholarships

by Kim Jones Sneed

During the Fall 2021 and Spring 2022 semesters, 22 University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB) students were awarded a total of $14,564.59 in scholarships for tuition, books and online educational access codes by the alumni.  The students who received assistance reside in Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Missouri, Oklahoma and Tennessee.  We thank everyone for their contributions, especially during the global COVID pandemic!

In addition, Jerilean Brewer, a 1968 alumnus of Arkansas Agricultural, Mechanical and Normal College (now known as UAPB), directly assisted two UAPB students from her community of Dumas, AR with $250 scholarships each.  The award recipients were Mylesha R. Benton and Shabr’an Richardson.

Scholarships were provided by the National Alumni Association and the End of Year Challenge Scholarship Fund, established by 2017 UAPB alumnus Joy Matthews and President Young of the Memphis Alumni Chapter reported that the chapter was able to award a $1,000 scholarship via its endowment fund. This fund is managed by UAPB’s Office of Alumni Affairs.

Other funds were provided as a direct result of the generous donations that chapters received and creative (virtual, online and non-contact oriented) fundraisers that they conducted.

Scholarship award recipients and amounts awarded are as follows:


Braelyn Perkins-Boykins of Little Rock – $453.64

Elisa G. Brown of Little Rock, AR – $250.00

Rahji Cummings of Little Rock – $1,000.00

Zekiah I. Farmer of Little Rock – $1,000.00

Chaterica Fletcher of Pine Bluff – $450.00

Olivia Garrett of North Little Rock – $1,000.00

Mallory N. Harris of Sherwood, AR – $1,500.00

Sadiq Haruna of Pine Bluff – $250.00

Kaleb Knox of Bauxite – $500.00

Kyle Knox of Bauxite – $500.00

Taylor O’Donald of Little Rock – $1,000.00

Taylor D. Perry of Little Rock – $1,000.00

Isaac Singleton of Pine Bluff – $644.56

Bryce X. Smith of North Little Rock – $1,000.00

Jalannie J. Waller of Conway, AR – $1,000.00


Zariya S. Cooper of Conyers, GA – $1,000.00


Sheldon S. Smiley of Calumet Park, IL – $260.89

Paris M. Wyatt of Sauk Village, IL – $311.50


Doriana J. Nealy of Kansas City, MO – $644.00


R’Riyonna S. Gaither of Forest Park, OK – $300.00

We’re giving a great big shout out to the Greater Kansas City Chapter and President Shannon Hendrix; Memphis Chapter and President Johnnie Young; the Pulaski County Chapter and President Ashia Muhammad; and Metropolitan Atlanta Alumni Chapter and President Yvette M. White for their amazing leadership.

Let us hear you roar as we celebrate Alumni Chapters and Alums across the country who have helped UAPB students!  Keep on giving!  Let us know if you, your family or organization have set up a scholarship or endowment fund at UAPB.  We just might feature you in a future issue of Alumni Voices Roar!